Winston JohnsonThe first ever IDFA National Capital Classic was held on July 16 at the incredible Canadian Museum of Civilization in Gatineau, Quebec, Canada. The museum is just a stone’s throw from the Parliament Buildings in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, the nation’s capital – such a fine location was fitting for an event of such high caliber.

More than 80 entrants competed in 14 masters, novice, and open classes in three disciplines: men’s bodybuilding, women’s figure, and women’s fitness modeling. Masters competitions are for any competitor 40 years of age or older (note: there is only masters bodybuilding and figure, not fitness modeling), while novice competitions are for first-time competitors or those who haven’t placed in the top three in a novice competition before. Open competitions are for those who advance from the novice level, and overall winners are also awarded IDFA Pro Cards and can take part in IDFA pro-level competitions, which are held twice each year. (If competitor quality is high enough, the IDFA can award additional IDFA Pro Cards to class winners, something that you’ll see occurred on July 16.)

The quality of the NCC competition was extremely high, with a number of competitors who truly stood out and who will do well in future IDFA competitions. One was Janet Gates, a veteran of the IDFA stage, who won the masters figure category. Stephane Gauthier also went on to prove that age is just a number by showing excellent size and shape that allowed him to win the men’s masters category.

The men’s novice bodybuilding winner was Pierre-Eric Brunet. Beautiful Tiffany Doorbal and stunning Crystal Tyo were neck and neck for the novice short-class fitness model title. It was Tiffany who took home the title in that class, and the overall title as well when she went up against Natacha Dion, the excellent winner of the novice tall class. The short and tall figure winners were Marie-Chantal Di Guardo and Kierston Fu respectively. It was Marie Chantal who ultimately claimed the overall novice figure title.

The open competitions were outstanding. Debbie Laurin-Leclerc and Josée Hammond won short and tall figure respectively, with Josée narrowly beating Debbie for the overall title. Because of the closeness of the competition, IDFA president Shaun Campbell elected to award two IDFA Pro Cards, so Debbie and Josée will both be advancing to the IDFA’s professional ranks. Lauren Dempsey was the fitness-model short-class winner and Robyn Stone was the tall-class winner. It was Lauren who took the top spot in the overall showdown, but once again, because of the quality of the competition, Lauren and Robyn both received IDFA Pro Cards.

Debbie Laurin-Leclerc and Josée Hammond

The IDFA is the undisputed leader nationwide in men’s bodybuilding events, and the caliber of the athletes at the NCC showed why: Pablo Gonzales (lightweight), Evans McNicoll (middleweight), and Winston Johnson (heavyweight) were excellent winners of their respective classes. But when it came to sheer size, shape, and definition, no one was going to touch Winston Johnson, who blazed onto the IDFA scene two months prior at the IDFA Novice Classic and won the overall title there. He did the same thing at the IDFA National Capital Classic and not only became the overall winner, he also became the IDFA’s newest men’s pro and can now compete against established IDFA stars such as Erik Alstrup and Dickens Lambert.

The first IDFA National Capital Classic was an incredible success, which sets the stage for next year’s event that will undoubtedly be even better! As always, will be there to cover it.

Full unofficial results:
*Results will become official once all drug testing has been validated.


  1. Janet Gates (Barrie, ON)
  2. Anne-Marie Brugger (Ottawa, ON)
  3. Isabelle Alix (Montreal, QC)
  4. Terri Perry (Ottawa, ON)
  5. Rosanne Neddo (Gatineau, QC)


  1. Stephane Gauthier (Gatineau, QC)
  2. Francois Leblond (QC)
  3. Martin Glandon (Gatineau, QC)
  4. Chris Becanic (Ottawa, ON)
  5. Lorenzo Luciano (LaSalle, QC)
  6. Pablo Gonzalez (Ottawa, ON)
  7. Peter Hehn (Montreal, QC)


  1. Tiffany Doorbal (Mississauga, ON) *Overall Winner
  2. Crystal Lynn Tyo (Ottawa, ON)
  3. Marie-Chantal Di Guardo (Nepean, ON)
  4. Tina Salicco (Bradford, ON)
  5. Pamela Cebrowski (Orleans, ON)
  6. Catherine Plamondon (Sherbrooke, QC)
  7. Anouk Arbour (Gatineau, QC)
  8. Kelsey Biddiscombe (Kitchener, ON)
  9. Violetta Davies (Waterloo, ON)
  10. Rebecca Goldie (Longueuil, QC)


  1. Natacha Dion (Gatineau, QC)
  2. Jenny Dunford (Ottawa, ON)
  3. Julie Laverdiere (Gatineau, QC)
  4. Terri Perry (Ottawa, ON)
  5. Kierston Fu (Gatineau, QC)
  6. Anne-Marie Brugger (Ottawa, ON)
  7. Lauren Czuba (Ottawa, ON)
  8. Genevieve Plouffe (Gatineau, QC)
  9. Debby Simms (Ottawa, ON)


  1. Pierre-Eric Brunet (Gatineau, QC)
  2. Martin Glandon (Gatineau, QC)
  3. Lorenzo Luciano (LaSalle, QC)
  4. Carl Richer (St-Eustache, QC)
  5. Haitham Montasser (Gatineau, QC)
  6. Mark Irwin (Ajax, ON)


  1. Marie-Chantal Di Guardo (Nepean, ON) *Overall Winner
  2. Pamela Cebrowski (Orleans, ON)
  3. Anouk Arbour (Gatineau, QC)
  4. Catherine Plamondon (Sherbrooke, QC)
  5. Melanie Roy (Kanata, ON)
  6. Violetta Davies (Waterloo, ON)
  7. Rebecca Goldie (Longueuil, QC)
  8. Rosanne Neddo (Gatineau, QC)
  9. Nisara Jiwani (Ottawa, ON)


  1. Kierston Fu (Gatineau, QC)
  2. Julie Laverdiere (Gatineau, QC)
  3. Lauren Czuba (Ottawa, ON)


  1. Lauren Dempsey (Toronto, ON) *Overall Winner & New IDFA Pro
  2. Priscille Guerrier (Montreal, QC)
  3. Casandra Bella (Toronto, ON)
  4. Annie Deschesnes (Gatineau, QC)
  5. Jennifer Trotman (Toronto, ON)


  1. Robyn Stone (Port McNicoll, ON) *New IDFA Pro
  2. Lucie Rezankova (Ottawa, ON)
  3. Anne-Renée Séguin (Cumberland, ON)


  1. Pablo Gonzalez (Ottawa, ON)
  2. Joven Parcon (Kitchener, ON)
  3. Nick Cavaljiu (Ottawa, ON)
  4. Tyler Locke (Kingston, ON)


  1. Evans McNicoll (La Malbaie, QC)
  2. Marc-Antoine Grondin (Vanier, QC)
  3. Andrew Marchegiano (Toronto, ON)
  4. Peter Hehn (Montreal, QC)


  1. Winston Johnson (North York, ON) *Overall Winner & New IDFA Pro
  2. Francois Leblond (QC)
  3. Bobby MacKenzie (Timberlea, NS)
  4. Darek Peszt (Mississauga, ON)
  5. Chris Becanic (Ottawa, ON)
  6. Jonathan Roberge (Magog, QC)


  1. Debbie Laurin-Leclerc (Gatineau, QC) *New IDFA Pro
  2. Nicole Leblanc (Cantley, QC)
  3. Janet Gates (Barrie, ON)
  4. Isabelle Alix (Montreal, QC)


  1. Josée Hammond (Gatineau, QC) *Overall Winner & New IDFA Pro
  2. Karine Pilon (Bois-des-Filions, QC)
  3. Lucie Rezankova (Ottawa, ON)
  4. Robyn Stone (Port McNicoll, ON)
  5. Anne-Renée Séguin (Cumberland, ON)
  6. Kristina Gotty (Brossard, QC)